We are in the process of migrating this forum. A new space will be available soon. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

Download Resume?

takagari
01-29-2015, 08:12 AM
My comment of it being ieasy was an understatement, any coder could do it. I'm not a coder. Your ftp option would be great if I ran linux.

The service is cheap. but don't advetise as a cheap alternative to companies when you have no where near the services. FTP access etc. would not be a huge change.
Releasing an app update that allows you to access/resume files from within a backup, rather than an entire backup. Would be a great start.

Charles89
01-22-2015, 01:30 PM
Quote Originally Posted by takagari
If your unble to offer even a bit of support, close the company.
I disagree, I just say price accordingly, and that's what they've done

But when you click to download a bunch, it does not download each, one at a time, it zips them as one large download
unless you tell me that you download 10GB one 100mb file at a time? That's insane?
Doing it manually? Yeah, that's insane. Automate it.

Any monkey with access could write a proper download script that does not involve the entire backup. with resume.
Why don't you? There's all the protocols available to you.

Or give bloody FTP download access?
They basically do, they provide OpenStack Swift access, so, you can do what you want. If you want to access it via the FTP specification, then a simple Google search turned up this, I admit I've not used it, but it seems to do the job you request.

Would that be so hard?
Yes, because that's a huge infrastructure change.

I'd like to point out I'm not saying they shouldn't implement it (Double negative?), I'm just saying that for the price you're paying, don't expect them running about implementing it A.S.A.P.

takagari
01-22-2015, 03:16 AM
Upload resume is not what I care about.