We are in the process of migrating this forum. A new space will be available soon. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

hubiC update with Archiving function


xavierh
10-21-2014, 05:32 PM
The archiving feature is now available on hubiC!

We’ve recently released a beta version of the archiving feature on hubiC.

We’re delighted to tell you that we’ve officially released the feature and it’s now available in the application.

Which applications?

The archiving feature is available on the desktop application for Windows, Mac OS and Linux.

What is archiving? How does it work?

Very easy to use, this feature allows you to create backups of any folder you like on your computer so you can save it on hubiC.

The principle of synchronisation is unchanged, but you can now right click on any folder you like and select hubiC > Create a backup.

All the files in the selected folder will be sent to hubiC. If you close the application before all the files are sent, they will continue to send from where they left off the next time you open the application.

A “Create a backup” window will open.

Attachment 270

In this window, you may rename your backup in hubiC. This will be the name of the backup that you will see in the web application and the desktop application installed on other computers, for example. The name will only be changed in hubiC and not in your local folder.

Big new feature: the archiving feature allows you to choose whether to save earlier versions of your backups or not. This way you may choose not to save any versions, to save from 1 to 10 versions or even to save all versions. Please note that this only applies to backups and you can’t save versions of synchronised data.

Backups and their saved versions will be deducted from your hubiC accounts storage capacity.

You can update your backups:
- Manually: right click on your local folder and select “hubiC” > “Update backup”
- Automatically: once an hour/a day/week

When you update your backups, the application identifies any local changes so it can replicate them on hubiC. This feature was designed and implemented for you to optimise your bandwidth usage and to prevent you having to upload your backups in full every time you perform an update. This way if the application detects that only one part of the file has been changed, only this part will be sent to hubiC and deducted from your storage quota!

Lastly, tick the “Keep on hubiC files that have been deleted on this computer” option is you don’t want anything to be deleted from your storage space during the updates.

Click “OK” to start the backup.

Please note:
1. You can’t create a backup of a file synchronised by hubiC
2. You can’t create any backup if synchronisation is paused

You can manage your backups in the application’s “Backups” menu. You can also download your backups from here. You can access all your backups from the web application https://hubic.com/home/ in the MY BACKUPS menu.